Read latest Sports News for today

T20 World Cup 2024

India announce squad for Men's T20 World Cup 2024

  • Apr 30, 2024
  • pitchhigh
  • 401

Rohit Sharma is set to captain India in their pursuit of long-awaited glory, as the BCCI unveils the squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024.

Before the announcement, speculation abounded regarding the wicketkeeper selection, with several candidates competing for the position. Ultimately, India has placed their trust in Rishabh Pant and Sanju Samson as the wicketkeepers.

This signifies Pant's comeback to international cricket after a near-fatal accident in December 2022, which sidelined him for over a year.

Shivam Dube's consistent IPL performance ensured his retention in the squad after his recent appearances in the T20I series against Afghanistan. The 30-year-old, in exceptional form for the Chennai Super Kings, has amassed 350 runs in nine matches at an impressive strike rate of 172.41.

India has opted for a spin-heavy bowling lineup featuring Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, and Yuzvendra Chahal, while the pace attack will be spearheaded by Jasprit Bumrah, supported by Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj, and vice-captain Hardik Pandya.

In the batting department, the selection of Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, and Suryakumar Yadav for the top order alongside captain Rohit Sharma was as expected.

Shubman Gill and Rinku Singh have been named among the reserves along with pacers Khaleel Ahmed and Avesh Khan.

Notably absent from India's squad is KL Rahul, who featured in the last two T20 World Cup campaigns (2021 and 2022).

T20 World Cup 2024

India squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Siraj

Reserves: Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed and Avesh Khan

India are placed in Group A of the tournament alongside arch-rivals Pakistan, Ireland, Canada and co-hosts USA. Their campaign begins on 5 June against Ireland at the newly-constructed Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York before they take on Pakistan in one of the most awaited matches of the upcoming T20 World Cup.

Also Read: Paris 2024 Olympics - Latest News, Schedules & Results