Read latest Sports News for today

today match

SRH vs RR: Sanju Samson expects RR to play fearless cricket

  • Mar 29, 2022
  • pitchhigh
  • 873

Rajasthan Royals captain Sanju Samsun hopes his team will play cricket fearlessly and end their 13-year drought in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

The inaugural IPL champions in 2008, Rajasthan Royals have built a strong organization in their ranks this season with some great players like Jos Buttler, Devdutt Padikkal, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, and Yuzvendra Chahal as well as Samson.

"We have a different team this time, and there are some new members on the team, so it's important that we unite and understand our teammates," Samson told RR against Sunrisers Hyderabad on Tuesday. Before the first match of the IPL 2022.

“We definitely learned a lot from the past 2-3 seasons. We discussed and worked out some options and got a great team up for auction.”

Sango said the royals have a variety on the team in the nearly two-month tournament this season.

“We have a lot of Indian and international strength in our squad. This is a very long tournament. We need to understand the mentality, physical condition, and form of all the players. But we have enough options to play.”

“I think this formula has to be played with a very brave mindset and this year this team has that kind of personality. So we like to go out and express ourselves.” Lasith Malinga recently joined the Rajasthan Royals as the team's bowling coach, and Samson said the pacemaker in Sri Lanka adds a lot of value and makes his job easier.

“It is great to have people like Lasith and Kumar Sangakara (key cricketer) who have grown up watching and admiring almost every cricketer for everything they have done on the pitch. Now they are just trying to help youngsters like us understand their game better.”

“Every conversation we had with Lasith makes bowling very simple and easy and brings a lot of clarity to every player. He definitely makes things easier for me as a leader.

RR will play their first match on March 29th at Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium.

Also Read - IPL 2022: Teams who best win percentage in IPL history