Read latest Sports News for today

 Board of Control for Cricket in India

Rohit Sharma Returns From Injury, To Lead India In West Indies Series

  • Jan 27, 2022
  • pitchhigh
  • 1019

Rohit Sharma is back from an injury break and will lead the Indian team in the next series at home against the West Indies. The Board of Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) on Wednesday announced an 18-player squad for the three-match International One-Day Series and three-match T20I series against the West Indies at home. Indian white-ball captain Rohit will lead the team in ODI for the first time as a full-time captain after missing the South Africa tour due to a hamstring injury. Rohit's return will be a huge boost to a team that has gotten smarter with their shock 0-3 elimination at the hands of South Africa.

Meanwhile, Kuldeep Yadav has returned to the team as part of the ODI team. Ravichandran Ashwin, who performed poorly in the ODI series against South Africa, has been disqualified from the team. Young Ravi Bishnoi, who rotates his legs, was called up for the national team for the first time.

The Bahrain Chamber of Commerce and Industry said both Jaspreet Bumrah and Mohammed Al-Shami have taken a break from the series, while Kuala Lumpur Rahul will be available for the second ODI.

He added that Ravindra Jadeja will continue to recover from her knee injury and will not be available for the series, while Axar Patel will be available for T20I.

Rohit's return will mean he's back to the top of the ODI ranking along with Shikhar Dhawan in shape and could see Vice-Captain KL Rahul rise to fourth.

Three ODI matches will be held in Ahmedabad, while three T20 matches will be held in Kolkata.

ODI squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohd. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan

Equipo T20I: Rohit Sharma (capitán), KL Rahul (vice-capitán), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Surya Kumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (sem), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi, Axar Patel Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Mohd. Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel.

Read More News - Ravi Shastri's Stunning Comment On Whether Virat Kohli