Read latest Sports News for today

Australian Open 2020

Australian Open 2020: Australian Open Schedule, Score, Results

  • Jan 08, 2020
  • Aditi Verma
  • 5422

The Australia Open is a tennis tournament held every year at the end of the month of January. It is held in Melbourne, Australia. It is the first event out of the four Grand Slam tennis events that are held annually. It precedes the French Open, Wimbledon, and even the US Open. The events held are featuring men's and women's singles; men's, women's, and mixed doubles; junior's championships; and wheelchair, legends, as well as the exhibition events.

The 2020 Australian Open is a Grand Slam tennis tournament. It will start from 20th January 2020 till 2nd February 2020. The 2020 Australian Open is going to be the 108th edition of the Australian Open. The main sponsor of the tennis tournament even in previous years is Kia.

Before the year 1988, the players used to play tennis on the grass courts. After since the game was played on two different types of hard court surfaces that were being used at the Melbourne Park. A green-colored Rebound Ace was used up to the year 2007 and ever since Blue Plexicushion is used. Also, this tournament is going to be the first edition that will be using GreenSet. GreenSet is a type of hard surface used in the courts. 

The Australian Open is going to be played on the hard courts. It will be played across a series of 25 courts, and the main show courts including Rod Laver Arena, Melbourne Arena and the Margaret Court Arena. 1573 Arena that was earlier a "show court two" but has now been upgraded to the main show court.

The Australian Open is the largest annual sporting event held in the Southern Hemisphere. In the year 2019, the grand slam event had been attended by more than 7 lakh people from all over the world. An interesting fact of the Tournament is that the names of the winners will be inscribed on the Trophy cups.

The previous winners of the Tournament include the following:

  •   Naomi Osaka: The winner of the Women's singles in 2019
  •   Novac Djokovic: The winner of the Men's singles in 2019
  •   Nicolas Mahut: Part of the Men's doubles team who won in the year 2019
  •   Pierre-Hugues Herbert: Part of the Men's doubles team who won in the year 2019
  •   Samantha Stosur: Part of the Women's doubles team who won in the year 2019
  •   Zhang Shuai: Part of the Women's doubles team who won in the year 2019
  •   Barbora Krejíková: Part of the mixed doubles team who won in the year 2019
  •   Rajeev Ram: Part of the mixed doubles team that won in the year 2019.

The Australian Open is held at the Melbourne Park. It is located in the campus of the Melbourne Sports and Entertainment Precinct. As of now, the complex has three courts with a retractable roof, that makes it possible for the matches to continue during the conditions of rain or extreme heat. 

The Tennis tournaments can at times be completely unpredictable and unavoidable, hence the schedule may change accordingly.

The Junior matches that will be held on the outside courts will start from Saturday 25 January. The Singles events quarterfinal matches are going to be scheduled on Tuesday 28 January and Wednesday 29 January 2020. 

Sony will be providing the live coverage of the Australian Open 2020 in both English and Hindi, with the OTT platform SonyLiv so as to live stream the action from all the 16 match courts in Melbourne, Australia where the tournament is taking place from 20th January till 2nd February 2020.

The tickets of the 2020 Australian Open are available here:

Read More: Check the list of the Top Sporting events in the year 2020